Spring Break 2014

Hello! This is Allie, one of the co-founders of PositivitiProject. I was fortunate enough to have spent the last week participating in Habitat for Humanity’s ‘Collegiate Challenge’ Alternative Spring Break Trip. 33 students from UMass drove down to Albany, Georgia. In Georgia, we were joined by students from other universities including University of New England, University of Kentucky, and Emporia State University. We spent the week doing construction on a house, which would eventually be sold to a single mother, who was the widow of a U.S. Veteran. Going on this trip was an absolutely amazing experience and I have so much to be grateful for.

First and foremost, I spent the last week with an amazing group of leaders. When I say leaders, I’m not talking about people who boast important titles or who have enormous responsibilities. I’m talking about people who have incredible attitudes. This past week I was surrounded by more positive attitudes, thoughts, and actions than I have ever experienced within a group of people. Even though they may not have realized the power of their individual actions, the students who were always smiling and being contagiously happy truly earned my respect. Our trip would not have been as successful without the positive leadership that so many of those students possess.

Additionally, I am thankful for:

-All of the hugs that were exchanged over the past week
-Having met such amazing people and leaders
-Everyone’s unique personalities, skills, and talents
-Listening to other people’s stories, being able to communicate openly and honestly
-Working as a team, learning from others
-Having a safe, secure place to live. We went to Habitat for Humanity’s Global Village and were able to get some perspective about living conditions around the world. I am so incredibly thankful to be where I am today and to have all that I have.
-All of the people who made the trip possible
-Laughing so hard that my stomach hurt
-Meeting students from other schools who were generous, friendly, and a lot of fun to be around
-How appreciative the local communities were, their generosity and loving spirits
-Being able to try new things, like authentic sweet tea and fried chicken
-Singing in our van
-People with such loving hearts

I feel like the luckiest girl in the world. I don’t have all of the words to captivate how amazing my experience was, but hope to express my utmost gratitude to everyone who made the past week remarkable. This article goes out to great people, new friends, and the best of memories.

003 007 123 249 10001514_706447166045375_910444514_n

 

Leave a Reply

